Celebrating The Bee

2 comments
Botanical, Gardening, Macro, Nature, Photography

Honey Bee on Astrantia flowerWhite-Tailed Bumblebee

I make no apology for cliched shots of bees. Without them we would be screwed. Period.

As a keen gardener, I can’t begin to imagine a world without them. I certainly don’t want to!

I can watch them, for ages, working the flowers. They pollinate my runner beans, courgettes, tomatoes, peppers and many flowers.

To celebrate their often overlooked industry and to give them a helping hand, were having a beehive installed in the garden this weekend!! We could be housing between 10,000 and 60,000 honey bees throughout the year. I’m hoping to be able to get some great photos of the whole bee-keeping process. Preferably, without getting stung!

A friend of mine has furnished me with an I.D. chart showing Britain’s commonest bees so I’ll be adding bee-spotting to my list of hobbies……..

2 thoughts on “Celebrating The Bee”

    • Thanks. Bees are doing fine and seem happy in their new location. Next time their owner comes round to check on them I’m hoping to suit up and get some nice photos!

      Like

Leave a Reply

