Tete A Tate

1 comment
Photography

Millenium Bridge at night View from Tate Modern to St.Paul'sWell if I wanted a contrast to Monday, I sure managed it on Tuesday!

In a moment of great spontaneity, I decided to take the train up to London and visit a photography exhibition at the Tate Modern.

Taking the train was something I’d not done in a long, long time. Fortunately, I timed it well and my journey was relatively pain free. The walk from St.Paul’s Underground Station and across the Millennium Bridge was pleasantly uncrowded, as was the Tate itself.

The exhibition I went to see is called Conflict, Time, Photography. Not only was I impressed by the body of work on show, but also the volume! To find out more visit http://www.tate.org.uk/whats-on/tate-modern/exhibition/conflict-time-photography

Emerging from the exhibition, I found myself next to the balcony from which I took the panoramic shot above. I was quite struck by how many significant new buildings have been constructed over the last few years. Perhaps our economy is on the up?

I am quite impressed with this panoramic feature on my iPhone 4s and I am starting to use it more and more. The black & white image was taken with an App called Hueless, a purely B&W App I really love! Considering it was very dark, at just gone six o’clock, I feel that with a little tinkering in Adobe Lightroom it’s turned out okay.

By this time, I was feeling very tired and so, wasn’t really up for travelling on the Tube in rush hour! I found it very stressful and wondered how on earth I used to do it on a daily basis, some years back.

Still, the mainline train was fine and not too full. It was nice to let the train take the strain, sit back and reflect on the exhibition,( rather than drive 90 miles down the M3 to home, like I normally do when I visit Kew Gardens).

In particular, two sets of image stuck in my mind,

First, a series of photos depicting the remains of items found in Horishima. A helmet with a piece of skull fused to the inside. Outer garments where no remains of their wearers were ever found.

Second, a series of images, taken in the modern era, of places of execution of ‘deserters’ in World War 1. The first photograph relates the execution of the first British soldier, aged just 17 years! Not even old enough to enlist legally……

It probably doesn’t sound like a bundle of laughs! But it made me realise how lucky I am to live where I do and when I do! Also how time can heal, all be it slowly sometimes…………and how the only constant is change!

One thought on “Tete A Tate”

Leave a Reply

